Galway Golf Club Logo
Book a round on Galway Golf Course


Galway GC Hosts 2017 Irish Amateur Close Championship


August 21st to 26th
The Championship was first held in 1893 at Royal Portrush and has been played each year since, with the exception of the war years. Former winners of the Championship include Paul O’Hanlon (2008), Shane Lowry (2007) Rory McIlroy (2006 and 2005), Brian McElhinney (2004), Graeme McDowell
(2000), Peter Lawrie (1996), Padraig Harrington (1995), Darren Clarke (1990) and Paul McGinley (1989). 

Volunteers will be required over the course of the week for ball spotting, scoring etc. – if any members are interested in doing a few hours for any of the above days please contact me via
Thank you to those who have already offered their time.

Please note that due the above event the course will be unavailable to members from Monday August 21st until mid-morning on Saturday August 26th and, with the agreement of Club Council, that the ladies club have been given the Saturday afternoon and Sunday afternoon August 26th and 27th in lieu of their lost competition on the Tuesday.   The Club Council wishes to place on record it thanks to members for their co-operation with the hosting of this event.


I have arranged reduced green fees for members at the following clubs;
Bearna G.C. – Monday 21st to Friday 25th @ €15.00p/p & Saturday 26th @ €25.00p/p
Galway Bay G.C. – Tuesday 22nd, Thursday 24th, Saturday 26th & Afternoon of Sunday 27th @ €25.00p/p
Rates subject to availability & Galway GC membership

Galway Golf Club GalleryGalway Golf Club Online ShopGalway Weather Forcast
Galway Golf Club Footer Logos Top 50 Best Hidden Gem Golf Courses in Europe Golfing Union of Ireland Irish Ladies Golfing Union Wild Atlantic Way

Galway Golf Club: Blackrock, Salthill, Galway H91 D8NW
Office: 091 522033 | Catering: 091 521827 | Professional: 091 526040 | Fax: 091 529783 | Email: